The 2010 FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is less than two months away. The countries have been divided, which resembles “divisions” in baseball or football. This years World Cup will take place in South Africa. Group A features the hosts, South Africa, along with Mexico, Uruguay and France.

Group B has Argentina, Nigeria, Korea and Greece.

Group C will see England, United States, Algeria and Slovenia.

Group D has Germany, Australia, Serbia and Ghana.

Group E will feature Netherlands, Denmark, Japan and Cameroon.

Group F will see Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand and Slovakia.

Group G sees Brazil, Korea DPR, Ivory Coast and Portugal.

Group H features Spain, Switzerland, Honduras and Chile.

Spain is the overall favorite to win the World Cup, with average odds of +400 at most sports books on the web. Next is Brazil, who is listed around +515. England is listed at +620 and Argentina is +750. After that, the odds really begin to decrease, with Germany at +1350 and Italy at +1400. The United States have odds of +7500 to win the entire World Cup. New Zealand and North Korea have the worst odds listed at +200,000.

June 11th starts the tournament and sees South Africa and Mexico play, along with Uruguay and France out of Group A. Group B and Group C do not start their play until June 12th. Group D begins June 13th, while Group E and F get started June 14th. Group G starts their action on June 15th and Group H on June 16th. The United States start on June 12th against England in Rustenburg. June 18th the United States battles Slovenia, and they finish up the group play on June 23rd against Algeria in Tshwane/Pretoria. The favorite, Spain kicks the World Cup off on June 16th against Switzerland, in Durban. The middle game of their World Cup action is on June 21st against Honduras. Their final game of the tournament is against Chile on June 25th.

Uruguay won the first ever World Cup beating Argentina in 1930, with the United States finishing third. The last World Cup, in 2006 was held in Germany, where Italy beat France for the championship and Germany beat Portugal. Brazil holds the most titles, with five, closely followed by Italy with four. The United States have yet to place in the top four since the initial World Cup 80 years ago. The last time the United States hosted the World Cup was in 1994.