United States sets final World Cup Roster

The United States, and head coach Bradley have announced their final 2010 World Cup Roster. For many, it was an expected invitation, but for others it was a very pleasant surprise, and quite an honor.

The goaltenders that are going to lead the United States in the 2010 South African World Cup include: Brad Guzan of Aston Villa, Marcus Hahnemann of Wolverhampton and Tim Howard of Everton.

The defenders that will carry the load of shutting down opponents include: Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Steve Cherundolo (Hanover), Jay DeMerit (Watford), Clarence Goodman (IK Start), Oguchi Onyewu (AC Milan) and Jonathan Spector (West Ham).

The midfielders include: DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers), Michael Bradley (Borussia), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Glasgow Rangers), Benny Feilhaber (AGF Aarhus), Stuart Holden (Bolton) and Jose Torres (Pachuca).

Lastly, the forwards for the United States will be: Jozy Altidore (Hull), Edson Buddle (Los Angeles Galaxy), Robbie Finley (Salt Lake) and Herculez Gomez (Puebla).

Donovan is the highlight of the team, scoring 42 goals in 121 appearances. One of the most surprising snubs for the team was Donovan’s teammate Brian Ching. Ching, who made the 2006 roster but never made an appearance, turned 32 recently, so most likely was his final shot. Ching missed over a month after hurting his hamstring in early April. He made his return to the team (Houston) on May 13th. Other notables that were cut from the 2010 World Cup team for the United States include: Chad Marshall, Heath Pearce, Alejandro Bedoya, Sacha Kljestan and Robbie Rogers.

The youngest player on the roster is Jozy Altidore, who is 20 years old. The oldest is goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann, who will be 38 in June. Players on the team played a little tight recently when they played their final exhibition game against the Czech Republic. The United States lost that match 4-2 in the first of three games before the first World Cup game on June 12th.